My Life Rules #2: Trust That the Universe Will Take Care of You

by phoenixortheflame

20130620-080611.jpg
Okay, change of plans. I know in my last post I said I’d talk about My Life Rules: If You Don’t Know What to Do, Do Nothing, but I’m feeling like I need to touch on a different one first. If you’re wondering why, it’s because this particular rule has been presenting quite a challenge for me lately. (Read: I totally effed the dog on this one.)

Rule #2: Trust That the Universe Will Take Care of You
I’ve never been a religious person. I’ve dabbled in different faiths, I guess you could say, but nothing really resonated with me.

That said, I always thought there might be something going on behind the scenes–something bigger than me, bigger than all of us. Some of you might call that God. Or Gaia. Or the Divine Goddess. Different people have different names for this force, but I prefer to simply refer to it as the all-encompassing Universe.

Now, it’s only quite recently that I transitioned from thinking this force might exist to believing that it does. As a relatively rational, logical person, I was pretty skeptical about a grandiose idea such as this. But here I was, out on my ass with my world flipped upside down, and I thought, ‘Oh, hell, why not?’

Do you know what it feels like to carry all this responsibility and need for control over situations you have no control over, and then give it away? It feels like weightlessness. It feels like sweet, sweet relief. It feels like when you have $700 worth of clothes from a two hour trip across the border and the border guard is a) sexy, and b) does not give two shits about the three layers of clothing you’re wearing.

Now I’m not suggesting that you absolve yourself of all responsibility completely. I’m simply suggesting that if you do your best, you do your due diligence, and you trust that the Universe will figure your shit out for you, it probably will. Hell, even if you don’t trust that the Universe will take care of you, with a good, open attitude it usually will.

Now, I have to say, I really suck at following this rule most of the time. I’m a control freak, what can I say? I like to know exactly what’s going on, for how long, and when it might change, so that I can be mentally prepared for that to happen. I don’t particularly like surprises, especially when they involve getting my car towed. And I especially don’t like that I can’t control other people’s feelings or actions.

Umm I’m trying? Yah, let’s go with that.

To clarify, I don’t mean controlling others in the Imperius Curse kind of way (Shout out to my fellow Harry Potter fans!). More so, I refer to the fact that despite our hopes and best efforts, our ability to predict and control an outcome between two people is limited to the fact that each person is navigating through life in his or her own way. In other words, we all have our shit.

When you realize that the only true control you have is over your own thoughts, behaviors, and actions, well, let’s just say you stop acting like a total lunatic. And for everything else, I’ma let the Universe figure that out for me.

How about y’all? Have you ever had the Universe figure your shit out for you?

