On conscious living + an intro to My Life Rules blog series

by phoenixortheflame

20130611-172922.jpg
As you all know, the past few months of my life have been bursting with change. It’s been an interesting experience, filled with highs, lows, and everything in between. But I’ve got to say: for once in my life I feel like I’m actually living.

Conscious living is something I’d read about, but I really had no clue what it was or what it felt like. For many years I lived as a victim of my situation, in constant discontent: with my job, relationships, and general outlook on life. It’s not something I’m ashamed of, as I was only doing the best I could do. But now I know that I can do better.

Last night I watched a TED Talk that revealed we each make an average of 70 choices a day. And each one of these choices presents a new opportunity to live consciously. In years before, these choices overwhelmed me. So much room for mistakes, I thought. What if I choose wrong? It was paralyzing.

I can’t pinpoint the moment I decided to live consciously, and, in fact, it was likely a gradual shift. All I know is that now that I’m here, I can never go back. The simplest of decisions, such as whether to empty the dishwasher or not (yeah, I had inner dialogue over this very dilemma more than once), became not simpler, but presented another opportunity for me to make a choice and stick with it (or not!).

See, the beauty of conscious living is that you are also free to change your mind at any time. I can choose to join a knitting club, for example, and if it’s not my thing, I can choose to quit. What a novelty!

But the greatest benefit I’ve experienced since choosing to live consciously is the huge increase in my level of happiness. I feel more connected to the world, with people and my outside surroundings. And with each choice I consciously make, I get to know myself a little better better–how I react in certain situations, what my true values are, how I want to spend my time, etc. And I don’t always choose right, trust me. But I understand that nothing is set in stone, and I can change directions any time my gut tells me to.

Over the next few months–in between pretty food posts, I promise–I’m going to share with y’all My Life Rules. These are 100 percent all mine, and they kind of just made their way into my life over the past few months. When I feel overwhelmed or anxious I go back to My Life Rules and they always guide me back to my path.

Maybe you’ll think they’re ridiculous–totally fine. I probably would have too a few years ago. And frankly, I’m no expert. I just know what’s worked for me thus far.

Keep posted for the first rule: Listen to Your Gut. And please, share your own wisdom with me, as mine is constantly under construction and pretty damn green.

