Dinner Tonight: Chicken Soft Tacos with Fresh Pico de Gallo

by phoenixortheflame

I have two prerequisites when it comes to cooking now: tasty (duh) and simple.

I don’t mean to brag, but I’m pretty damn popular, so I don’t have much time to prepare meals.

Alright, scratch that–truth is, I eat so damn much that I spend most of my free time exercising. So that I can consume more delicious calories. Does anyone else do this?

20130425-212207.jpg

On the spectrum of delicious and easy, this one was a 10 out of 10. Wait, does a spectrum have a 10? Or is it just continuous? Is it infinite?

Focus, Amy.

Mexican food is, like, the best. For a long time I thought Taco Bell was Mexican food, and while I could go for a Gordita literally anytime, I understand that real Mexican food relies on fresh, simple ingredients. Not baha sauce (again, which is incredible and totally acceptable on road trips across the border).

20130425-213359.jpg

See those corn tortillas? They’re the size of coasters. They’re like little baby tortillas. You know, for babies. Or carnies. They were leftover from a food shoot at work, so best of all, they were free!

Top with some pre-cooked chicken, avocado, and fresh pico de gallo and there ya have it. My dinner.

FYI, I’ve never made good salsa before–I really don’t understand how, because it’s literally six ingredients, but for some reason it always turns out so damn onion-y. Not this time! Check it out. I’m putting this shit on everything.

Pico de Gallo
4 plum tomatoes, cut into eighths
1/2 small sweet white onion, diced
1/2 jalapeño, minced
Handful cilantro, roughly chopped
Squeeze lime juice
Dash sea salt

Combine all ingredients and set in fridge for at least an hour to let flavours meld.

Makes 1 1/2 cups.

