Dinner Tonight: Overstuffed Sweet Potatoes with Kale and Navy Beans

by phoenixortheflame

Oh. My. God. I have created something truly amazing. Like, I think I now know what it must feel like to have a child.

No?

Whatever.

20130426-074805.jpg

Full disclosure: I ate dinner in bed today. It’s a first for me, I swear. I’d like to think it’s not going to happen again, but then why would I deny myself two of the greatest things in life: dinner and down comforters?

I have a valid reason though. By the time I got home from circuit training, showered, dilly-dallied like a pro, remembered that I needed to put the sweet potatoes in the oven, got distracted by shiny things, and then actually put the sweet potatoes in to bake, it was, like, 8 pm. Duh, I’m eating in bed.

Oh yah, so circuit training. It sucks. I mean, I’m definitely feeling stronger and looking svelter (whoa, svelter is actually a word?) since I started several months ago, but 50 minutes of legs? No effing thank you. Mind you, I am going to Vegas in two weeks for a friend’s bachelorette party, so I bet I’ll be happy for all this torture when I have to endure even more torture by, you know, putting on a two-piece for the first time this season. Yah, sorry to remind you, folks, but bathing suit season is just around the corner

But you know what helps to ease bathing suit-induced anxiety? Healthy eating. You know what makes it worse? Eating five Girl Guide cookies, one donut, and two chocolate-covered Digestive cookies, all in one day. I learned that last week.

But that was last week, and this is this week, and after eating dinner tonight (in bed), I’m starting to believe I can actually do this … Until those damn Girl Guides come around in a few months with those mint-chocolate cookies–they are pure cookie cocaine. Like I would literally crush them up and snort them.

But I digress.

Once again, tonight’s dinner proves that one does not need truffle oil or saffron or other costly ingredients to create something amazing. Nor does one need to use a laundry list of ingredients–simply a few well-combined ingredients will do.

It was, like, amazing. And don’t just take my word on it. Make it. And then eat it in bed.

Overstuffed Sweet Potatoes with Kale and Navy Beans

2 sweet potatoes scrubbed
2 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 can navy beans, drained and rinsed
Generous sprinkling red chili flakes (or to your preferred spice level)
1 bunch kale, stemmed and chopped
Salt to taste
Goat cheese

Set oven to 400 F.

Poke holes in sweet potatoes and place in oven-proof dish in oven and bake until tender (about 45 minutes).

Meanwhile, heat oil in frying pan over medium-high heat. Add garlic and cook until it begins to brown–don’t let it burn. Add beans and heat through.

Turn heat down to medium and add chili flakes. Add kale and cook, stirring often until kale wilts. Season with salt. If needed, add a few tablespoons of water to create steam to help kale wilt. Set filling aside.

When sweet potatoes are done, remove from oven and cut a deep slit down the middle of each. Fill with kale and bean mixture (don’t worry if it overflows) and top with crumbled goat cheese.

Makes 2 servings.

