Dinner Tonight: Sicilian Grilled Cheese

by phoenixortheflame

I’ve been desperately craving carbs lately. And cheese. Usually together. I bought two bags of cheesy bread sticks from the supermarket last week and ate nearly all of them myself. Needless to say my pants feel a tad tighter.

Anyway, due to my current (but also lifelong) obsession with carbs and cheese, I had only two possible dishes in mind for dinner tonight: macaroni and cheese or grilled cheese.

I settled on the grilled cheese, but with a twist.

Sicilian Grilled Cheese

2 slices of your favourite crusty bread
2 slices of provolone
prepared pesto
roasted red peppers
spinach
Earth Balance butter

  1. Heat a skillet over medium.
  2. Spread a generous layer of pesto onto one of the slices of bread.
  3. Layer the cheese, roasted red peppers, and spinach on top of the pesto.
  4. Place the other piece of bread on top and spread a thin layer of butter on either side of the sandwich.
  5. Grill until both sides are golden and the cheese is melted.
Serves 1
