Dinner Tonight: Egg Curry

by phoenixortheflame

Hello long-lost friends! I know it’s been far too long since my last post, but it’s been a long time since I was this excited about dinner!

I received Bal Arneson’s Quick & Healthy Indian for my birthday from my boyfriend’s sister, and tonight was my first time cracking it open! As most of you know I’m not huge into eating meat, so when I came across a curry dish with eggs as the main protein I knew it was the first think I had to make.

In a few words, it was AMAZING! However, I did modify it slightly according to what I had in my kitchen. I also added a can of chickpeas and some baby spinach to the mix to pump up the fibre and other nutrients.

Egg Curry
adapted from Bal Arneson’s Quick & Healthy Indian

2 Tbsp grapeseed oil
1 Tbsp finely chopped ginger
1 tsp garam masala
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1 1/2  tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp paprika
1 tsp turmeric
pinch of ground cloves
1 cup diced tomatoes
1 cup vegetable broth
1 cup plain Greek yogurt
2 Tbsp all-purpose flour (although the recipe called for chickpea, which would be much better)
3 handfuls baby spinach
1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
6 eggs

  1. Heat oil in skillet on medium-high. Once oil is hot, add minced ginger, stirring for 15 seconds.
  2. Add all the spices to skillet and cook for 10 seconds.
  3. Add tomatoes and cook, stirring frequently, for 2 minutes.
  4. Add broth to skillet and turn heat down to low.
  5. In a small bowl, combine flour and yogurt and whisk until smooth. Add yogurt mixture slowly to skillet, stirring constantly. Once incorporated, turn heat to high and bring to a boil. Once mixture reaches boiling point, add chickpeas and spinach and turn down to low and simmer for 15 minutes.
  6. Meanwhile, place eggs in pot of boiling water and cook until eggs until hard-boiled (about 8 minutes for large eggs).
  7. Peel eggs and cut into quarters. Place carefully in sauce.
  8. Serve eggs and curry over a bed of basmati rice.

Serves 4 

