Dinner Tonight: Southwest Tofu Scramble

by phoenixortheflame

I’m officially back from my hiatus! I’ll be honest, I have no good reason for not posting lately other than I’ve been extremely lazy. Also, keeping up a food blog can sometimes be exhausting since you have to constantly be finding and subsequently cooking new recipes. But enough complaining from me!

So we usually eat out on Fridays. But since I was a bad girl yesterday (eating pizza and such) I decided to cook tonight rather than spend more money that I don’t have and eat more calories than I need. Since I’m pretty good about planning my meals in advance, I had all the ingredients necessary to make a wicked tofu scramble!

Now, I know what you’re thinking: tofu scramble, sounds … delicious?? Well, it actually was. Holy cow, it was actually freaking amazing. In fact, it’s been officially added to my unofficial top 10 recipes ever. I’ll admit it, even I am sometimes hesitant about tofu, but this recipe was off-the-hook-incredible!

Am I rambling? Perhaps. Anyway, the recipe I made was adapted from a recipe I found on Little House of Veggies (my new favourite vegan blog, by the way). I made a few alterations based on my own tastes and what I had in the fridge. The recipe is below.

Southwest Tofu Scramble
adapted from Little House of Veggies 

For the tofu scramble:
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp Earth Balance butter
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 cup diced onion
1 carrot, diced
1 celery stalk, diced
1/3 frozen corn
1/3 cup diced zucchini
4 mushrooms, diced
1 package extra-firm pressed tofu, crumbled
1/2 tsp each cumin, paprika, cayenne pepper
cracked black pepper
1 tsp sea salt
5 Tbsp nutritional yeast
1/3 cup canned black beans
Handful spinach
1 tomato, chopped
Cilantro for garnish

  1. Heat oil and Earth Balance butter in a wok over medium-high heat. Add garlic, onion, carrot, celery, zucchini, and corn; saute for 5 minutes until veggies are soft.
  2. Add mushrooms; saute for another 3 minutes.
  3. Add tofu, spices, nutritional yeast, and black beans; stir until all ingredients are heated through.
  4. Remove wok from heat; stir in spinach and tomato.

For the potatoes:
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp Earth Balance butter
5 baby potatoes, thinly sliced
1 Tbsp sea salt
cracked black pepper

  1. Heat oil and butter in fry pan over medium-high heat.
  2. Add sliced potatoes; season with salt and pepper.
  3. Cook for approximately 15 minutes or until potatoes are cooked through and surfaces are browned.
  4. Plate 1/4 of the cooked potatoes. Top with tofu scramble and garnish with cilantro.

I hope you like the recipe. I cut my finger chopping the cilantro, but it was still worth it!

Eat flexy, feel sexy!

