Dinner Tonight: Lentil Seitan Sloppy Joes

by phoenixortheflame

I’m back, and it feels great to be posting again. Life has been crazy lately, to say the least. But a girl’s gotta eat. And so, she shall post also.

Tonight was my first attempt at cooking with seitan, a meat-like substance made from wheat gluten. I was a bit hesitant to cook with it as I’ve tried fake “meats” in the past, such as veggie crumbles and veggie sausages, and I find them absolutely disgusting. But seitan is in a league of it’s own, I’ve discovered. It’s chewy texture is definitely reminiscent of meat, but it doesn’t have all the additives other fake “meats” have to make them taste more “meaty.”

The recipe tonight came from the newest addition to my cookbook shelf, Skinny Bitch. I would recommend this book to anyone who’s looking to eat healthier but who LOVES FOOD! Thus far, I’ve been super happy with the recipes, and I have many more unmade recipes marked with sticky notes.

In short, the Sloppy Joes were delicious! No, they did not taste like the Sloppy Joes we got from the school lunch program in elementary school–but that’s a good thing! Even Connor said they were great. But he agreed that next time we should use an additional package of seitan in lieu of a cup of the lentils–just to make them a bit more “meaty.”

Give them a try, and let me know how you like them!

Eat flexy, feel sexy!

