Dinner Tonight: Vegan (but not gluten-free) Mac and Cheese

by phoenixortheflame

Vegan Mac and CheeseHey y’all! I know it’s been a while since I last posted, and I apologize for that. School kind of took over my life for a few months and, unfortunately, I didn’t have the time to do everything that’s required for keeping this blog up to date (finding new recipes, grocery lists, shopping, cooking, photographing, uploading photos, blogging, and, finally, posting). But, alas, the semester is over (as is the craziness that we call Christmas), so I’m back to posting.

I hope you all enjoy my first post-hiatus post (wow, that was a mouthful!). I’ve made this dish several times, and it’s soooo good. I swear, I cannot believe there is not a fleck, a speck, or a drop of dairy in this delectable dish–it’s amazing!

The recipe comes from a book called vegan yum yum, which evolved from a blog of the same name. I’ve made several dishes from this book and they all have turned out quite to my satisfaction. The Hurry Up Alfredo is one of my go-to recipes when I don’t have much time or I haven’t been to the grocery store in a while.

Now, you may be wondering why my blog title says “but not gluten-free.” Well, funny story. I had a friend over for dinner last night. She has a gluten sensitivity. Though I had not planned to have her for dinner, when she said she’d be around my side of the tracks, I told her to come on over and bring some rice pasta with her. I was so excited! Like, really excited. I love cooking for others, plus, she just got engaged and I hadn’t seen the ring yet.

But, to make a long story short, I put flour in the roux. Big no-no if you know anything about gluten sensitivities. THEN, I put bread crumbs on top. Yes, I suck. But she ate it anyway and, though she might have a gut ache because of me, she said it was yummy.

Niki, this one’s for you. Eat flexy, feel sexy!

