Dinner Tonight: Supermarket Sushi Cones

by phoenixortheflame

For those readers who know me, you know that I love sushi. In fact, love is an understatement. I couldn’t live without sushi. A world without sushi is a world I don’t want to be in. Okay, so maybe I’m exaggerating a bit–but come on, it’s like the most delicious food ever invented in the history of food.

Okay, so now that I’ve calmed down a bit, let me start off by saying that anyone can make this dinner. Even broke college kids (which I am–fancy that!). This isn’t the sushi you find at your favourite japanese restaurant. No, it’s simpler, cheaper, and much more accessible.

Basically, what we’ve made tonight is Supermarket sushi–meaning that you can buy everything at your regular grocery store. So, as you can guess, no sashimi. Which is totally okay, because instead of those yummy, cold slabs of tuna, you can use canned tuna mixed with mayo (or, in my case Vegenaise). And it tastes soooo yummy.

As you can see in the photo, we’ve got sliced avocado, julienned cucumber, alfalfa sprouts, shredded carrot, and diced apple. In addition to those ingredients and the tuna, we also picked up some imitation crab meat, which is not as good as the real thing, but, let’s be honest, most sushi restaurants don’t use the real thing anyway.

Then you need to get the nori (seaweed) and the wasabi paste. Both of these items can be found in the ethnic foods aisle in the supermarket.

Finally, for the sushi rice, you need some white rice (we used long grain), some brown rice vinegar, and some sugar. Once the rice is cooked, add a bit of the vinegar and the sugar. I don’t know the exact measurements of each, I just judge it based on taste.

Then you just split the nori into two pieces, pile on your favourite ingredients, roll up, and enjoy! Oh, and you don’t have to use my suggestions for what to stuff your cones with. These are very forgiving and you can pretty much put anything inside. Try some scrambled egg, or maybe some strips of red pepper.

The point is, they’re quick, they’re easy, and they’re almost as good as the real thing (maybe better if you factor in the cost savings!).

Eat flexy, feel sexy!

