Dinner Tonight: Fried Polenta with Sautéed Wild Mushrooms and Chipotle Cream Sauce

by phoenixortheflame

So, we didn’t actually have this for dinner tonight, we had it yesterday. As a matter of fact, we didn’t have it for dinner either–we had a couple friends over for dinner so we had it as an appetizer. It was quite filling though, so we didn’t end up eating dinner until about 8 pm.

This was the first time I cooked polenta–ever. And let me just clarify what I mean by cook. I bought a tube of polenta, cut it into 3/4 inch rounds and fried it in olive oil until golden. Done and done. Although, I must admit, there was a recipe to make polenta from scratch, but I took the shortcut. And it tasted great, so if you’re in a rush, the tube works in a pinch.

The recipe called for wild mushrooms, so I grabbed some cremini and some oyster mushrooms–two of my favourites. They were perfect.

The sauce was so simple, and yet so amazing. I simmered a cup of whipping cream with 1 1/2 chipotle peppers and some of the sauce they sit in. Then into the blender the mixture goes, and voila, chipotle cream sauce.

Then layer everything and top with parmesan cheese and chopped fresh basil.

Soooooooooooooooooooooo good.

Eat flexy, feel sexy!

