Dinner Tonight: Sweet Potato Tempeh Hash

by phoenixortheflame

I’ve been trying to find more recipes that use tempeh, another form of soy (like tofu only the soybeans are still whole). I saw this recipe a while ago, but before I had used tempeh at all, so I was afraid of it. Since then, however, I cooked a lovely dinner of curried mango tempeh pitas and thought I should try using it again.

Something you should all know, is that I used yams and not sweet potatoes in this recipe. I know what you’re thinking, you’re thinking “but yams are orange and sweet potatoes are yellow.” And you’d be wrong. Well according to alive magazine you’d be wrong. Apparently we’ve all got it wrong. It’s those damn “yam” fries being all orange and wrong that are persisting this erroneous belief. If you don’t believe me, check this out.

Anyway, the recipe called for sweet potatoes (orange) and I used yams (yellow). Though it’s possible that the cookbook is wrong, too. So basically just use whichever one you prefer. Oh, and by the way you can find the recipe here.

Back to the dinner though. It was good. Not great, but I could see why people would love it. I added more BBQ sauce than the recipe called for, which I thought was necessary, but maybe if you use real sweet potatoes (orange), the ones that are especially sweet, then you wouldn’t need that extra sweetness from the BBQ sauce.

I like the idea of using sweet potatoes rather than your regular white potato for hash browns. And they were good. But I would have liked to add a bit more garlic salt and herbs to spice it up a bit. Oh damn! I just forgot that I forgot to put Franks on them–that sure would have added some pep.

And I have to say, I love fried eggs. Actually, I love eggs in general. I try not to eat them often (maybe two per week) so when I do eat an egg, I’m in heaven.

Have any of you cooked tempeh before? Have any good recipes you’d like to share?

Eat flexy, feel sexy!

