Dinner Tonight: Eggs Florentine with Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto & Turkey Breakfast Sausage

by phoenixortheflame

Breakfast for dinner is always a good idea–especially when you’re lazy or just don’t have the time to prepare a gourmet dinner (or even just a complete dinner for that matter).

Fortunately I had time to prep for dinner, so I made a variation of the typical breakfast dinner with a little added gourmet flair.

I borrowed the flat belly diet from my boyfriend’s mom quite a few months ago and cooked nearly all the vegetarian dishes in it. But now that I’ve ventured into occasionally cooking meat and eggs I decided to give it another look to see if there were any delicious looking and sounding flexitarian recipes–and there were!

Both recipes were super easy to make and tasted delicious. This is a definite repeater meal.

For the eggs Florentine recipe, click here. You might notice that mine looks a bit different that the picture on the official site. This is because I’ve never actually poached an egg, and I really didn’t feel like giving it a shot. So instead I just boiled the eggs for 6 1/2 minutes until they were slightly hard/runny.

I don’t usually get really excited about meat, but the sausages were so good. The recipe (click here) called for dried sage, which I didn’t have. But, thanks to my boyfriend’s lovely sister, I have fresh sage in my herb garden. So instead of the 1 1/2 tsp of dried sage the recipe called for, I used about 8 sage leaves chopped finely.

The second best part about the sausages (the fresh sage was the first, of course) was the hint of maple syrup taste in each bite. Yummy.

Eat flexy, feel sexy!

