Dinner Tonight: Easy Gourmet Pizzas

by phoenixortheflame

Tonight we had pizza! I was daydreaming about it all day, and it was everything I’d ever dreamed of–and more!

Now, we’re a bit lazy when it comes to pizza dough. We have done homemade dough before, but we always come back to using the same thing–whole wheat pita bread. They work so well–crisping up to something reminiscent of Me ‘n Ed’s signature thin crust.

We made several types of pizza tonight, including the classic Italian. I made the pizza sauce by mixing a half cup of tomato passata with a tbsp of tomato paste, one clove minced garlic, and chopped fresh oregano, basil, and parsley. We topped the pizzas with capicola, red onions, mushrooms, and mozzarella. I didn’t take a picture of these pizzas because they looked pretty boring, covered in white cheese and all.

I also made a potato pizza and a asparagus pizza just to mix it up a little bit–and to use those random ingredients that I had in my fridge that I mentioned earlier in the week.

For the potato pizza, I drizzled some extra-virgin olive oil on the pita, then fried sliced red potatoes until they browned. Then I quickly sautéed up some red onion, garlic, and rosemary and poured it on top of the pizza and baked it in the oven on 350 for about 20 minutes until the pita was crisp.

For the asparagus pizza, I spooned some jarred pesto on the pita, then tossed on the pre-cooked asparagus pieces, and then topped with crumbled goat cheese. I cooked it at the same temperature and for the same time as the potato pizza. Easy yet delicious!

Eat flexy, feel sexy!

