Dinner Tonight: Italian Wedding Soup

by phoenixortheflame

Tonight I cooked meat. Maybe that’s not a big deal for most people, but it’s the first time I’ve done it in over five months. And you know what, I don’t feel bad about it–partly because I got it from a trusted source and partly because it was so damn tasty.

I’d only had Italian Wedding Soup once before I cut meat out of my diet, and even though it was from Safeway it was still so good. So when I picked up Quinoa 365 from my office and found a recipe for Italian Wedding Soup I knew I had to oblige.

Italian Wedding Soup is named such because¬†each ingredient works perfectly with the next–like a polyamorous marriage (not the Bountiful kind, though).

Traditionally, Italian Wedding Soup is made with small pasta but due to the nature of the cookbook I picked up this recipe uses, yep, you guessed it, quinoa.

Now I’ve mentioned before how yummy quinoa is, but it’s also really good for you. I’ll throw some buzz words around so you get the point: superfood, whole grain, and protein. That’s all I’m gonna say about it. Want more info about quinoa? Google it. Hah! If you want to check out the book, click here.

Anyway, the meatballs in the soup are so good. In fact, I wanted to eat them raw–that’s how good they smelled. (Maybe that also had something to do with the fact that I haven’t eaten turkey in six months…hmmm.) They’re made with 1/2 pound ground turkey, 1 egg, 3 Tbsp bread crumbs, 2 Tbsp parmesan, 1/4 cup chopped green onion, and 2 Tbsp cilantro. And the broth is just 5 cups of chicken broth (I used low-sodium chicken broth, and 6 cups of it), zest from 1 lemon, 2-1/2 cups chopped spinach, and 1/2 quinoa.

In the words of Perez Hilton, amazeballs.

Eat flexy, feel sexy!

