Dinner Tonight: Spicy Tomato Chickpea Soup & Quinoa Confetti Salad

by phoenixortheflame

As I mentioned earlier this week, we are on a strict budget–which is why I made this dinner. See, I already had the quinoa at home, and I can shell out the couple bucks it costs for a can of chickpeas and a can of diced tomatoes. But just because the meal is cheap doesn’t mean it tastes cheap. In fact, the flavours are so rich that you’ll feel like a queen (or king!). Okay, maybe that’s a slight exaggeration, but seriously, the dinner was delicious.

The recipe for the soup came from Lauren Ulm’s cookbook vegan yum yum. You can check out Lauren’s blog at veganyumyum (though this recipe is not found on her blog).

The quinoa dish was kind of a throw-together medley salad. It’s got chopped red bell pepper, cucumber, green onion, baby tomato, basil, and mint. I also mixed in a bit of rice vinegar, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and toasted pumpkin seeds.

My boyfriend’s mom makes the best quinoa salad, and I was trying to replicate it, but I didn’t quite get the right ratio of olive oil and vinegar–better luck next time.

Eat flexy, feel sexy!

