Dinner Tonight: Grilled “Chicken” Sandwiches

by phoenixortheflame

The problem with eating organic and, at times, vegan is that it can cost more than the standard North American diet. Not that I’m complaining–it’s worth every penny.

Unfortunately this week I’m kind of, how do I put this, broke. So I had to challenge myself to make some cheaper meals.

I’ve made tofu sandwiches before, but I used a different marinade for the tofu. The marinade I used tonight is my all time favourite, and you can find it at veganyumyum.

The marinade is only half the secret to amazing tofu though, so I’ll let you in on the other key points. First, make sure that you press the tofu (I use firm) for at least a half hour. To press, wrap the tofu in 3 sheets of paper towel and then an absorbent cloth or microfibre towel. Place a cast iron frying pan and a 28 oz can of tomatoes on top (or beans or a book).

Second, marinade the tofu for at least 4 hours and up to overnight.

And thirdly, fry the tofu in a cast-iron frying pan with some olive oil on medium-high heat until it looks like it just might burn if stays on any longer. Let it sit for a few minutes before you use it.

For the sandwich I grabbed a fresh loaf of rye bread from the supermarket, though you could use any type of bread, really. Then I layered on the Vegenaise, lettuce, tomatoes, alfalfa sprouts, and tofu and voila–the most delicious, better-than-chicken grilled tofu sandwich.

Eat flexy, feel sexy!

